Fava bean & avocado salad

by booberriepie

I picked up some fresh fava beans at the grocery store about a week ago, deciding I should finally learn how cook them.

 Image

 

Why did I not try them for so long? Is it because you have to peel them not once, but twice? No, I actually love mindless and tedious tasks. Was I worried I wouldn’t like them? No, I knew they would be delicious.

It was because I saw this my freshman year of college:

And that scene stuck in my mind. And I slept with the lights on that night. And that was what I thought of whenever I heard the words “fava beans”. And last week I decided it was time for me to associate them with something delicious and wholesome and not terrifying.

Hence, this salad:

Image

 

It was tasty and fresh and easy, but I think it would still be nice enough to serve to others.

For example, if you have an old friend for dinner.

 

Recipe(ish):

fava beans

avocado

vinegar of your choice

salt

fresh herbs of your choice

Peel the fava beans from their outer shell. Cook them in boiling water for about 30 seconds to a minute. Take them out, peel the individual beans from their skins. Mix with cut avocado. Dress with fresh herbs, a dash of vinegar, and a pinch of salt.

