How to make amazing oatmeal

by booberriepie

I eat oatmeal for breakfast almost every day with a cup of coffee, and it does not feel amazing. It tastes ok and I am not a breakfast-skipper. Saturday morning was no different, except that it was THE BEST.

Image

 

I was backpacking in the Sierras with some coworkers and it was our first breakfast. I hadn’t eaten much dinner the night before and I hadn’t slept well, but looking over the valley we had hiked up the previous day while eating my familiar breakfast was absolutely restorative. It didn’t matter that the coffee was Starbucks instant or that the oatmeal didn’t have real brown sugar–it was perfect. 

The point is, if you’re hungry and you’re somewhere beautiful, you could probably enjoy eating cardboard. Maybe that’s how all those energy bar brands are still in business.

Image

 

Meals are not just about the food.

The Best Oatmeal

oats

water

toppings

First, hike up a mountain.

Then, sleep on a rock in the cold.

Wake up with the sun, boil water, add oats.

Serve with toppings.

