This is my jam

by booberriepie

Recently, my roommate and I decided it would be fun to learn how to can food. I’m not actually sure where this fascination came from, except that is seems exciting to eat something in six months that I made last week. It’s like when you leave a dollar in your pocket and when you find it later it feels like free money.

Anyway, after doing some preliminary research, I decided to try canning with a recipe for melon vanilla jam that I had been eyeing for a while. I know home canning doesn’t immediately sound super exciting, but just wait until you are trying to pour boiling jam into boiling hot jars and screw on boiling hot lids and then try submerge the whole thing in boiling water, which then proceeds to boil over everywhere. Awesome.

Image 

Anyway, after all that, I decided I actually like melon better when it’s not cooked. Typical.

The recipe is from a cookbook called The Preservation Kitchen, which I highly recommend. The jam goes fantastically with yogurt and I think would also be nice with cheese.

