Liminal

by booberriepie

I have some pretty cool roommates. And some of those cool roommates are in a cool modern dance company, which you can check out here.

They have an upcoming show which centers around the concept of liminality–defined, according to Google, as

  1. of or relating to a transitional or initial stage of a process.
  2. occupying a position at, or on both sides of, a boundary or threshold.

So…what does this have to do with food? Well, their dance company, like most artistic ventures, desperately needs some $$$! They hosted a fund-raising party at our house, and I helped provide some food.

As I tried to decide what to cook, I starting thinking: what does it mean for a food to be liminal? Should I just serve something half-finished? That sounds artsy but not tasty. Maybe there was a food that would bring people memories of a liminal time in their lives? But that could be something different for everyone.

I settled on a pretty literal interpretation: pudding cake. Have you had this before? Pudding cake is a dessert that starts with a batter which, upon being baked, forms a cakey top over puddingy bottom, and in the center is the most glorious mix of the two. So transitional! So liminal! So tasty!

Pudding Cake Batter

 

I settled on a meyer lemon pudding cake after scouring Epicurious, and then decided it ought to have some toppings to add visual and textural festivity. I added whipped cream, strawberries, blueberries, mint, lemon zest, and cookie crumbles.

Pudding Cake Toppings

 

The dish ended up being the end of a scavenger hunt–and what a delicious end it was! I would definitely recommend it for a party. It’s easy to make a lot of, it can be made ahead of time, it can be decorated however you would like, and it’s more unusual that a plate of cookies or a layer cake. Here’s the recipe!

There was one little bit left after the party–I ate it for breakfast, with extra whipped cream. 🙂

